Reels

As I am recovering from a norovirus infection, I didn’t get out to sea this weekend, so instead I decided to work on my tackle, cleaning and oiling my reels and checking the lines.  Some of the lines had become a bit sun-bleached and tired-looking so I replaced them; others I just ran through a wet towel and rewound them onto the spool.  Some of lines left quite a lot of dirt on the towel.  As for the reels themselves, I just put a spot of oil or repellent grease on the vulnerable parts after giving them a wipe with a damp cloth – or cotton bud for those difficult to reach places – to get rid of any dirt and salt gathered around the spool. Although there are people who like to take their reels apart down to their various components and lavish TLC upon every single part, personally I feel that most fishing gear is so well made these days that they need far less maintenance than one might think.  Other than a thorough washing in lukewarm water every time I get back from a fishing trip, I really don’t do much else to them on a regular basis. 

cleanup.jpg

Despite the different types and the number of times I go out fishing, basically these four fixed spool and two baitcasters cover all of my needs, in addition to a Shimano electric reel for komase fishing and some joke little reels for tiny fish that are not in the photo.  Otherwise I tend to just rent the tackle, especially on my long-distance trips to Toyama and Iwate where a bag full or reels and a long rod case would just be a pain to carry, along with all my other luggage, on shinkansen and various trains.

Next month I am going fishing for makogarei (Japanese marbled sole, or flounder) so I can try them out. 

3 responses to “Reels

  1. Great write up about how to clean up the reels. I like your custom handle on the bay yard, you know I just got one too so maybe I should add one to mine too!!

    Tight Lines,

    Nigel

  2. Hi Nigel,
    Thanks for stopping by and posting!
    I use that handle when fast winding is needed, it’s a bit longer than the regular handle and with the round knob it is very easy to wind quickly. For tachiuo jigging, I use the handle the reel came with, as it is better for putting a fine jig action on the retrieve. I have tested this by using both handles on separate occasions for the same fish and the original handle brought me more hits and a much larger catch.
    As far as cleaning the Bayard goes…I grease the level winder ‘worm shaft’, oil the shaft at both ends of the line spool and put a spot of grease on the bits that take the spool shaft. Of course a brand new reel will have all this and more done it at the factory already; I didn’t have to touch mine until about a year after buying it.
    I think cleaning the reels of salt, dirt &c. after each fishing trip is more important…one good long rinse under the tap with lukewarm water, dry for a bit, then repeat. Some of the new reels out there apparently you can immerse fully in water but I don’t think Bayard is one of them.
    Cheers,
    Adam

  3. Thank you for this. It is useful and most admired.

Leave a Reply

