Fresh Produce from the Sanriku Sea

Gladly received tonight, by refrigerated courier, a shipment of fresh uni (sea urchin egg) taken yesterday from the Sanriku sea by Captain Yoshida of the Sei-eimaru, Sakihama harbour, Iwate Prefecture.  He rather kindly included some hotate scallops too; they were still alive.

 

Here’s the uni itself.  It is shipped in pure seawater, which means it never touches the alum preservatives that buyers use which imparts a rather chemical taste and discolours the eggs.  Also, coming straight from the fisherman who has taken it from the sea the uni never passes through the hands of middlemen and is less than half the price of that at market.

5 responses to “Fresh Produce from the Sanriku Sea

  1. Neko-san,

    Thank you very much for your having served me an excellent “uni bowl”.
    As you know, it is quite difficult to find real uni even in Tokyo unless I try to find hard and pay a lot. And yesterday, I had an oppotunity to enjoy real one by exchaning my asrai.

    Since seson of asari is ending, I am not sure if I can provide you good asari in this year. But if I find good one, I will let you know.

  2. Dear Hagenatto-san,
    Thank you for posting your comment and for kindly giving me asari many times this year. I am glad you enjoyed the uni. I ate the asari you gave me on Sunday today, cooked “rare” how I like it…
    Have a good holiday and I hope you catch some katsuo!
    Adam

  3. Tks a lot and have a nice vacation too.

  4. So beautiful! What will you do with the shells? How did you make the uni and scallops?

  5. Hi Amy,
    This time of the year the shells (and the creature held within) are small-ish about 12cm across, so I shucked the scallops and ate them as is. When they get bigger you can cook the scallop in the shell straight on the stove, eating as-is (when they are alive they will cook in their own juices and seawater held within so they do not need seasoning) or chopping up and adding soy sauce, garlic, butter and parsley. The shell can be washed and re-used many times but the smaller ones will chip and become useless rather quickly.
    The uni I ate in a variety of ways, my favourite being in a pasta sauce: onions, garlic, oregano, thin-sliced dried red chillies, tomatoes, parsley, cheddar, single cream and white wine reduced to a thick sauce, with the uni being stirred in at the last minute (just to warm through) and then the sauce put onto linguine.

Leave a Reply

