Bamboo

everywhere.  In my teacher’s workshop; this is just a small part of his stock.

bamboo

My shirogisu rod should be ready in one more session; it is looking quite good now, apart from one or two places where I mucked up the lacquering.  I put one last layer of lacquer on the tip and joints, and  went to the Sakura Rod Co. shop in Kanda to buy guides – Fuji, the good stuff – and a reel seat to wrap onto the rod.   I also picked up a cotton bag to put the rod in.  In addition to the regular supplies, they have a lot of rare, secondhand parts, castoffs and ‘junk’ so the shop is a veritable gold mine for angling and rod building kit; if unfettered I could see myself spending a terrible amount of time and money there. 

sakurai

Leave a Reply

