Maybe, just maybe

Seeing as my pipe-dream trout fishing expedition to Chitral (with some pottering about in Lahore) is probably out of the question for the foreseeable future, this year there is a chance I will make it to north India, to go fishing for mahseer.  If so, it would be September – where we have a four or five day holiday here in Japan, so I could take the time off work easily – and I would fly out to Delhi (Air India has direct flights from Narita) and take in some history and culture for a few days before heading north, for guided mahseer fishing.  In Delhi herself I guess I would have to visit some of the usual suspects such as Lal Quila, Jama Masjid, and Humayun’s tomb, &c. but on the list would definitely have to be a trip to Nizam-ud-din’s shrine to listen to qawwali.  And if possible, a trip to see Johnny Nicholson’s grave (sorry, India) and have a look at Tughlaqabad.  Of course during my time in the city I would indulge the local specialties, the hotter the better.  And after the mayhem of Delhi what better way to relax than in the foothills of the Himalayas, fishing?  We shall see.

Leave a Reply

