Getting ready

for the mahseer trip.  I need to get some jabs done – including the one in the bottom – and sort out the malaria pills (not Lariam).  Then a trip to get my Indian visa done.  When I booked my flights, it turned out there were only four seats left on the plane, which I thought unusual for a ticket two months in advance; of course I didn’t realise then that I am arriving in the last few days of Ramzaan.  Hopefully this does not affect my culinary adventures too much; judging by the amazing photography and mouthwatering descriptions on this page, probably not! 

As for sights, I am really torn about what to see and what must be left for next time.  Lal Qila and Nizam-ud-Din Dargah, and on my last day the tombs of Humayun and Safdarjung, are what I have decided on so far, with so many more to choose from.  Although this won’t be my first time in India, and I have a little pidgin Hindi to get me past the touts, urchins and so forth, I will probably hire a guide to take me through Chandni Chowk, which apparently is mayhem but sweetmakers Ghantewallahs is on the to-see list as well.  I am also quite keen on seeing Johnny Nicholson’s grave (sorry, India) and also Sikander Sahib’s St. James’s Church.  Qtub Minar, Ghalib Haveli and Tughlukabad I fear will have to wait till next time.  We shall see.

2 responses to “Getting ready

  1. Awesome! I’d love to catch one of those beasts! When are you going?

  2. Hi Clive,
    I’m flying out next month.
    If I am in luck I will be sure to send you and Jon some photos when I get back!
    Cheers,
    Adam

Leave a Reply

