Smoked Trout

I tried my hand at smoking fish for the first time ever.  Unfortunately the smoker itself was rather small, meaning I had to top’n’tail the fish – not affecting the taste, only the aesthetics of the finished product – but they came out much better than I expected.  I used beechwood chips and tried to keep the smoke as cool as possible.

The finished article was surprisingly good, the fish still very moist and tasty.  On returning home I flaked the meat off one of the beasts into a bowl containing some cream cheese, chopped chives and crushed black pepper.  This made a fairly acceptable filling for lightly toasted grain buns, which disappeared like the dew on a summer’s rose.

When I next get some basmati rice in, I will make good old English kedgeree.

One response to “Smoked Trout

  1. I am salivating.

Leave a Reply

