First offshore trip of the year

Glorious weather but the water was quite rough; I imagine the waves were leftovers from a far-off ocean somewhere, as this morning in Tokyo the glass was at 1024mb and there wasn’t a breath of wind in the air.  It was nice to get out to sea  after such a long time, and enjoy the shirogisu whiting fishing.  The boss, skipper and hands all were happy to see me after such a long time, and even more so when I handed over the bottle of Hida sake I brought as a gift for them.  This time I remembered to slather my head and face with SPF50 sun cream, so I am not as sunburnt as after my last two mabuna fishing trips.

After filleting the fish, I am faced with the delicious prospect of how to cook them.  I imagine the neighbours will have to help me dispose of them in their entirety.

Leave a Reply

