World’s Smallest Game Fish?

8 responses to “World’s Smallest Game Fish?

  1. Congratulation !!!
    Smallest but one of the most beautiful fish in Japan.
    Also the bucket seems to be high quality handmade masterpiece.
    Looking forward to meeting you soon.

  2. Pompey,
    Thank you!
    I had no idea tanago fishing could be so enjoyable and absorbing. I hope to go again soon.
    All the best,
    Adam

  3. Adam, Thanks for your comment.
    When I ‘ve sent the Tanago photo (just as same as yours) to one of my fishing mate in the UK, his reply was ” I did not realise you had such large hands! ”

    Have a nice day.
    Pompey@Office

  4. Tiny bite! Must be a challenge to land. I do some Tanago fishing around here although the fish are quite a bit larger (about the size of my hand). I usually eat these tataki style.

  5. Pompey,
    I look forward to when we can catch some tanago together some time.
    Cheers,
    Adam

  6. Lance,
    Nice to hear from you again!
    Are the tanago you catch “umi-tanago” or “oh-tanago”? I remember when I was in Iwate the harbour was full of umi-tanago.
    I guess you are waiting for the start of the ayu season, right?
    Adam

  7. Adam,
    I may not be able to get out for Ayu this year. I lost my contact. I’ll have to gear up slowly and may be able to get out starting next summer. I’m trying to get on Mutsu Bay for Kare while they’re still prime to eat.
    Lance

  8. Lance,
    Sorry to hear it. But it sounds like you had a good day offshore fishing.
    What variety of karei do you get on Mutsu Bay?

Leave a Reply

