Landing Net Completed

After an eye-opening earthquake, I completed the final adjustment of the plug this morning – the bamboo changes very slightly during the lacquering process – and my landing net project is now done.  I need to pick up a bag to put it in, and carve a dowel to protect the joint when the net is in transit/storage, but it is ready to use.  Hopefully this summer I will be doing a fair bit of herabuna fishing, and I can’t wait to give it a try!

Another view, with the net taken down:

For a comparison I trawled through my old photos and found a picture of the raw bamboo:

Closeups of the handle and the net joint:

 

2 responses to “Landing Net Completed

  1. Awesome job, looks great!

    How many hours did it take?

  2. Hi Clive,
    Thanks, I didn’t count the exact hours, but it took four months from start to finish.

Leave a Reply

