Little India – Jackson Heights, NY

If I lived in NY, I would eat here every single day, at least until I expired from heart disease.

Being in the restaurant was essentially like a euphoric waking dream for me, as the menu included almost every variety of Muslim-style kebab and bread; this time I settled for chicken tikka and a keema naan; hardly adventurous, but a good measure of a restaurant is of course how they do the simple stuff.  Both were excellent and came hot-and-hot, the ovens being only a hand-full away from the counter and creating a quite authentic micro-atmosphere inside the shop.  Being in America, I of course had to have a Cola drink with them.

There was simply too much on offer in the restaurant to eat in one sitting; next time I swear the first dish to try will be the tava kuta-kut – made with offal and brain – and their menu, photographed for posterity, included nihari, haleem, paya, khulcha, gola kebab, a variety of biryanis and chicken/goat karhai.  With a paan-walla (more on this later)  in easy walking distance, there is little more I could wish for, except perhaps for a place nearby that would serve me some pre-meal chota pegs, and I suspect when I next visit New York my most likely first port of call will be Kababish, Jackson Heights. 

With a number of Indian stores nearby, I managed to stock up on some of the more esoteric items that I can’t get here in Tokyo: kewra extract, neem, Triphala (for the innards, post-eating), Naga chillies, kala jeera and South Indian tamarind.  Ratanjot (alkanet) unfortunately eluded me despite much searching, although it is quite unusual and I only ever use for one dish (liver-kidney kebabs).  There is always next time.

5 responses to “Little India – Jackson Heights, NY

  1. I am pretty sure the road to heaven is paved with keema naan.

  2. open a restaurant with all those esoteric items.

  3. Amy,
    Indeed. With archangels lining the way, bearing Cola drink.

  4. Chris:
    Well, the kewra is only used to make a certain variety of kebab, the neem is in a toothpaste, Triphala is a potent Ayurvedic laxative and the Naga chilli is one of the hottest on earth. Will you come and eat a dish?

  5. absolutely.. i lived in korea. i can stomach anything!

Leave a Reply

