Lacquer Arrived

in the post from Japan Joboji.  As I think I have mentioned in previous posts, Japanese urushi lacquer is a natural product that comes from the sap of various trees of the Rhus family.  Nowadays there are very few artisans remaining capable of tapping the urushi lacquer from such trees, but one place they still do it according to traditional methods is Joboji, Iwate Prefecture.  I use their raw lacquer in all my rod making, and although it requires much longer to polymerise than other brands, is more expensive and has quite potent allergenic effects, I use no other when it comes to lacquering the ground layer of my rods or the final polishing stages.

Leave a Reply

