Sri Lankan squid curry

Saw off the last of my haul of Bleeker’s squid in a very Sri Lankan curry: coconut milk, huge chunks of garlic, lots of ground chilli, cardamom, cloves and curry leaves.  Perfect thing to scoff whilst watching Kumar Sangakkar’s recent Spirit of Cricket lecture at Lord’s and sweating in this terrible Tokyo heat.  Some lime pickle and a great mound of white rice helped it down, although sadly I did not have papar or a nice Sri Lankan banana – small, but the tastiest I have ever eaten – to complete proceedings.

5 responses to “Sri Lankan squid curry

  1. Groan… you know how to hit all of my hunger buttons at the right moment.

  2. Do you have a recipe for this dish? I would love to make it myself.

  3. Hi Joel,
    It is essentially the same as the recipe for devilled cuttlefish, in the comments section of this post:
    https://nekokichi.wordpress.com/2009/01/26/sri-lankan-cuttlefish-curry/
    Good luck!
    Adam

  4. Thanks for this recipe Adam🙂

    I live in SL, so I am sure this is the correct one.
    I am going to try making it today and let you know ^^

  5. Hi Ukp,
    Thank you, and good luck making the curry today!
    I ate this curry in Kandy in 2007 and look forward to visiting Sri Lanka again in the future.
    All the best,
    Aadm

Leave a Reply

