Ginkgo and Salt Horse

Removed the seeds from my ginkgo haul yesterday.  The flesh contains a waxy compound that smells remarkably like both vomit and faeces, and gets stuck everywhere; I will never again begrudge the high price the ready-prepared seeds command.  The liberated seeds are drying out on my balcony now.

Perhaps to get over the ginkgo-ordeal, afterwards I roused out a piece of salt beef from my freezer and boiled it.  It was eaten as per usual (rye bread, hot mustard; sliced gherkins).

Leave a Reply

