Back from haze fishing

Finally got to try out my haze bamboo rod which I made last year, but due to a conspiracy of circumstances was unable to use before last season ended.  Yesterday was the day for my annual autumn haze-charter (I usually do one in Spring, for shirogisu whiting too) and despite an unexpected downpour at dawn, once out on the Bay we were blessed with excellent weather and good water conditions.   It was good to see old friends again – last year’s charter was cancelled due to a typhoon – and the skipper outdid himself again come lunchtime, with countless varieties of tenpura hot-and-hot from the makeshift galley, and in great abundance.  My new rod turned out to be a pretty good fisher and I caught a good bag of haze with it (it is terribly bad luck to have a poor catch the first time you use a rod; it seems to stick).  Some of my catch I delivered to my local sushi restaurant and the rest I shall deal with at home.

Leave a Reply

