Lunar Eclipse 10th Dec 2011

Low overhead clouds miraculously parted in time to reveal all of the eclipse (this year I missed both the last eclipse and the Pleiades meteor events thanks to rain or typhoon).  Whilst for obvious reasons I do not like to spend too much time on my balcony looking about with a spyglass and camera, I watched most of it. 

The Moon is in Taurus and you can even see Aldebaran in the photo.  Snapped with my point-and-shoot Olympus from my balcony so whilst hardly observatory-quality, you can still see the important stuff: the curious red hue, the Seas &c.  There will not be another total lunar eclipse for several years, so it was gratifying to catch this one.

Leave a Reply

