Boxing Day Fishing

A very good day out on the water cuttlefish-fishing.  A Thermos flask of strong coffee, doubly-shotted with Bajun rum, kept my spirits up and I was treated to a fantastic observation of Mars and Saturn in the morning, before sunrise.  I took a brace of cuttlefish and on the way out spotted a magnificent specimen of P. haliaetus snatching fish at the water’s edge, and could see a snow-capped Mt. Fuji looking regal over the Bay all day long.

The combination of hot coffee and my trusty Guernsey frock kept the cold out – it was about 2°C at dawn – and I even got sunburnt by the day’s end.  Proceedings were completed with a Japanese hot bath and a few bumpers of Madeira whilst I prepared Korean-style cuttlefish (ojingu jeot) and a dish of cuttlefish in tomato and ink pasta sauce. 

The chilli-cuttlefish came with quite a punch, and I look forward to being able to make this again in the future.  The pasta was highly acceptable too, and a couple of cans of distilled rice spirit saw off the end of the meal.

On an unrelated note, an unusual piece of Japanese scrimshaw (seaman’s carved whalebone) came into my possession, a multi-layered inro box.  The reverse is somewhat adult-oriented so I did not photograph it, but it is always gratifying to own a piece of maritime history, especially one so niche as this.

6 responses to “Boxing Day Fishing

  1. That sounds like quite a wonderful day. Your new acquisition will now lead to some research time on the web as well as imaginings of what the other side could be. It is always hard to just see half a puzzle! I hope you had a lovely Christmas and have a wonderful new year.

  2. Adam, I love your site. My wife Barbra and I are living in Alaska now. The fishing is, of course, outstanding–both on the water and later, in the kitchen. I lived in Japan for seven years and was obsessed with the angling there. I fished everything I could get access to: trout, bass, suzuki, rockfish (mebaru, soi, etc.), mejina, ika, yamame, magochi and so on. For a time, I was absolutely addicted to surf fishing for suzuki. Then I caught iso-tsuri fever and went out every night I could in pursuit of kurodai & mejina. I look forward to your future posts!

  3. Hi Amy,
    Thank you & same to you too, I hope you are enjoying the holidays & all the best for 2012. Did you celebrate with a Kababish meal?
    Adam

  4. Hi Jack,
    Thanks for posting and nice to hear from another angler-cook, especially one so devoted to Japanese fishing.
    I’ve never caught a kurodai/chinu so you are ahead of me on the iso front!
    Adam

  5. I do hope you successfully complete your book. I have long thought that the absence of a comprehensive book on the various species and techniques of Japan represents a hole in angling literature. Reading your posts has brought back many pleasant memories. By the way… some years ago I read about Japanese fly anglers discovering surf/shore fishing (in the ocean) for chum salmon. If you get up there… The other angling I never got to experience but which really intrigued me was fishing for sea-run yamame/cherry salmon in the norther prefectures. As I recall, Aomori has a river where anglers pursue these fish with spoons and flies. I would imagine that North American techniques that apply to steelhead would work. Of course, the sharing of techniques goes both ways. I found the following video depicting Japanese-style techniques in British Columbia to be compelling. http://tv.shimano.co.jp/movie/tv/paradise_06/

  6. I would love to do some salmon fishing in the north. Having started out with offshore fishing I have only recently started getting into shore/fly fishing. And yes sakuramasu seems to be the holy grail of a lot of sport anglers here.
    As for the book, I’ve got about another 30 or so prefectures to do!

Leave a Reply

