Duck Prosciutto

This came out much better than I expected.  Sorry for the terrible carving, but I was busy elating over the melt-in-your-mouth duck fat, the spiciness and umami of the meat, and the wonderful mix of textures.  Considering there are only three ingredients needed to make this: duck, salt and pepper, it is a marvel.  I laid down three of these, made from three different types of duck, and the first was ready this morning.  I hope the others come out as well as this one.

4 responses to “Duck Prosciutto

  1. Adam,
    I thought the pork looked good, but the duck is absolutely gorgeous! My I ask what you referenced for your charcuterie process?
    Happy New Year!

  2. Hi Jim,
    Happy New Year to you too!
    The recipe for this duck prosciutto, as well as the lomo, comes from a book recently given to me by a cooking friend: Charcuterie, the Craft of Salting, Smoking and Curing, by Michael Ruhlman and Brian Polcyn. It is an excellent reference and I recently made duck confit, smoked salmon and other things according to its directions. In the new year I am going to try making Tuscan salami and chorizo sausage.
    Adam

  3. Adam,

    That looks exquisite! I hope it was as delicious as it looks. Did you pair it with anything?

  4. Hi Amy,
    Thanks, it was good.
    I found it did well served with cheese and bread. And wine, of course!
    Adam

Leave a Reply

