Tanago rod completed

Finished off the plugs and bought a bag for my tanago rod.  It is an eight-piece rod but all the smaller parts fit into the larger ones, so it packs up into three pieces when not in use.  I can’t wait to have a go fishing with this rod.

On a different note, my first attempt at making pancetta is well in train.  I found a supplier of good pork on Rakuten whose meat I used for this; for regular bacon, I normally just use imported Canadian pork from Hanamasa.  The curing is over and after some huffing and puffing, a heave-ho and a rum-below, finally managed to wrap the meat up and it is now drying.  It should be ready in about a week; spaghetti alla carbonara is most certainly on the cards.

8 responses to “Tanago rod completed

  1. Adam,
    Please do post some photos of the pancetta drying process. Looks like you’ve got another winner in the works.

  2. Hi Jim,
    The recipe says it takes 2 weeks, and I am on the second day. They are just hung up on hooks suspended from a stout piece of bamboo in my study. After a week I will weigh the rolls and try and take a picture.

  3. Adam,
    What a beautiful rod. I am very much looking forward to your reports of fishing with it. I am also curious about the hooks you use. There are no tanago in the US but there are lots of very small fish. People here seem to use small fly fishing hooks when “microfishing” but I suspect that hooks actually intended for very small fish would be better. Any information you could provide (including why there are several different shapes of tanago hooks) would be of interest.

  4. Hi Chris,
    Thanks for visiting and for posting your kind comment.
    Different hooks are used for 1) different baits (bloodworm, carp mash-style bait, boiled egg yolk &c.) and 2) for different types of tanago and the time of year (size of fish). Some species have comparatively large mouths, whilst others have very small mouths despite their bodies growing to a comparatively ‘large’ size.
    If you haven’t already, please have a look at an article I wrote for Fishing Fury.com
    http://www.fishingfury.com/20110308/the-worlds-smallest-game-fish/
    You can see a photo of a typical tanago rig, including hook, among other things.
    All the best,
    Adam

    • Adam,

      Yes, I did see your article (there’s very little information about tanago fishing in English!). Is one of the shapes a “general” shape or is each one very specialized? Typical bait people here would use will be a small bit of worm, and would be targetting a number of species of small minnows, darters, shiners, etc.

      Which, if any, would you recommend? ハリマ, 極小, 三腰, 新半月, 半月, 流線? These are Gamakatsu, but I could get Owner as well. And no, I can’t read the kanji, but I can cut and paste to place an order.

      Is it reasonable to think that tanago hooks would be appropriate for other species?

      Thanks and best regards,
      Chris

  5. Chris,
    If you can hang on till the weekend, I shall reply in depth to your questions, including profiles of the hooks you mention.
    In short, I tend to use 三腰 that have been ground by hand under a microscope. Otherwise for the larger species, 新半月 and 極小 can be used straight out the packet as-is. If you delay ordering till I get back to you, I might spare you some expense.
    Adam

  6. Chris, I sent you an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

