Home-made pancetta

Doesn’t look so bad after two weeks or so hung up to dry, but we shall see how well it eats this weekend, when I intend on making spaghetti alla carbonara.  At this time of year conditions in my flat are just about perfect for drying cured meats and I next on the list to attempt is chorizo and Tuscan-style salami, before Spring sets in.

Whilst looking like little mummified small-mammals, these are in fact duck prosciutto cured and ready to be hung up to dry.  After some experimentation – on both myself, and other people, I’ve settled on a recipe and these will be ready in one week’s time.  My last batch got the thumbs-up from my favourite yakitori restaurant that has great experience with all things duck and game, so hopefully this lot will come out as well too.

4 responses to “Home-made pancetta

  1. Adam,
    Thanks for the photos. The pancetta looks great, but you must get really good prices on duck to produce so much prosciutto. That stuff is pretty expensive here.
    I got the book, and am in the process of determining if I have a suitable location that will adhere to recommended temperatures. Their use of photos to become line drawings is facinating!
    Thanks again for the photos. They put things in perspective.
    One other thing: I looked again at your lomo embuchado and it appears to me that you used a tenderloin. Are you going to do a whole loin sometime?

  2. Hi Jim,
    I haven’t cooked with the pancetta yet, so I am not sure how it has turned out. Be sure to keep an eye out for my future post on carbonara!
    The duck was not so expensive, at least here in Japan where beef (wagyu at least) is King, and we are helped by a strong yen, and after my first trial, I found the most expensive duck meat (i.e., Magret) was not the best for this particular recipe, despite what it says in the book. Frozen imported Challans or even Barbary duck is perfectly good for this.
    Yes the lomo was a whole tenderloin. The recipe stated that the best thing for beginners was a lean cut of pork. My next pork meat project may well be a boned leg!
    Adam

  3. Adam,
    Thanks for your tip about duck. That will probably make it easier to do here. The second photo of duck prosciutto slices; was that your one week cure or the longer two week cure. I want to break into this slowly.
    I’m definitely looking forward to your next pork project. Six months from now, Adam-san will do a whole pig!

  4. Hi Jim,
    The duck prosciutto slices were made exactly following the recipe on page 54 of Ruhlman & Polcyn i.e., 24 hours cure and 7 days of drying.
    Good luck!
    Adam

Leave a Reply

