First attempt at making a ham

a hock-ham, bone out.  The cut I bought was not particularly fatty so not really suitable for roasting, so I cut it thick after boiling and it made an excellent sandwich filling, with plenty of English mustard.  I guess another way to deal with this kind of ham would be slather it in spices and hot-smoke it.

The ham out of the steeping-copper piping hot and ready to eat.  Like bacon, it is difficult to find really good quality ham here in Japan so I have to make it myself.  Next time I will try a larger ham, with a piece of the upper leg, so I can roast it.

I also took the precaution of buying some pork belly so I made my usual honey-cure, unsmoked rashers.  They came out pretty well.

4 responses to “First attempt at making a ham

  1. Just hung my first prosciutto – we’ll see how it goes!

  2. Good luck, I hope it comes out well. I’m still eating duck prosciutto I made last month but have to make an attempt on a pork leg…

  3. You can make pretty good ham if you wet cure it for about two weeks before you smoke it. Make sure have the correct ratio of curing salt so you don’t get sick.

  4. ocisven,
    Thank you for the advice. I wet-cured this piece for 10 days but it was just too big for my home smoker so I cooked it unsmoked.
    Adam

Leave a Reply

