Homemade Cumberland sausage

A strong libeccio blowing almost incessantly meant no fishing this weekend for me; I did however manage to make some Cumberland sausage.  Now the Cumberland sausage has been granted European Union PGI status (Protected Geographical Indication:- alongside such hallowed regional produce like Champagne or Parmesan cheese) so I am not sure if I am allowed to call mine a Cumberland; however I made it fairly authentic with 88% coarse-ground pork, breadcrumbs not rusk and the sausage is coiled into a fake rather than twisted into links.  The seasoning mix I bought ready-made from English company Sausagemaking.org.

Leave a Reply

