Angler’s Kitchen

I landed two good-sized inada (young  yellowtail) yesterday, both half-metre-class, and would have caught another, far bigger, but the decky was a little slow in stays and the beast threw the barbless hook at the surface as I bawled for the net.   I can hardly complain as I already had two good fish in the bag.  Both were killed on landing and a line passed through the spinal cord – how the Tsukiji market workers do it, and one reason why sushi chefs’ fish taste so good – and the fish immediately wrapped in plastic and plunged in ice-water.  At home, one of the fish was cut into nice fillets and cooked very simply: dusted with flour and quickly shallow-fried in olive oil so it is still soft and juicy within and nice and crispy-browned without.  Alongside buttered fettucine, I made a simple sauce of parsley, tarragon and button mushrooms, made in sake and cream reduced with the oil and scrapings in the same frying pan to complete the meal.

One of the tachiuo (cutlassfish) I caught was immediately commandeered by the memsahib, to be eaten privately, so I made do with making the Japanese dish kobu-jime: sashimi fillets lightly cured and pressed between leaves of konbu kelp.  It is one of my favourite ways of dealing with fresh white fish, and improved by serving not only with wasabi but my home-made umeboshi, chopped fine.  It also means the fish will keep longer (cutlassfish goes off remarkably quickly, quicker than mackerel) being salted and wrapped up in the kelp.

5 responses to “Angler’s Kitchen

  1. Sunami SAWAURA

    Thank you for boarding SAWAURAMARU on last Sunday.
    We are making effort to be the boathouse which can communicate many
    sensation of playing with one fish, and to tell the pleasure of the sea and a ship. Please come again! We live in the neighborhood.
    P.S, I’m sorry to fail in scooping a big fish! m(_ _)m
    SAWAURAMARU deckhand, wakaokami,
    Sunami SAWAURA
    twitter: @SAWAURAMARU
    facebook: http://www.facebook.com/FunayadoSawaura

  2. 深川さわ浦の若女将さんへ
    日曜日はどうもお世話になりましてありがとうございました。
    今年アジ釣りの仕立て船をお願いしようと思っています。その時連絡します、よろしくお願いいます
    Adamより

  3. Sunami SAWAURA

    アダムさん
    久しぶりに英語を使ってみました(笑)。お近くなので、また遊びにいらしてください。
    アジ釣りの仕立て船お待ちしています! 料理素晴しいですね!これからも楽しみにHP拝見させて頂きます!
    澤浦寿波

  4. Hi Adam, Going back to long untapped brain cells, I now remember catching both inada and small sennets (the Japanese name eludes me at present… a small member of the barracuda family) in the surf near Hiratsuka. Summer fish, caught by making long casts with metal jigs from the beach… These trout-sized fish (smaller than the inada you recently caught) were very good broiled. Your method of preparing the tachiuo is one I wish I’d known about and tried. The inada on fettucini looks like it made an exceptional meal.

  5. I think those are fish called kamasu in Japanese? I’ve never caught one of them, but I do agree they are tasty fish. My local sushi restaurant serves it as sashimi, with the skin just scorched over a charcoal flame.
    The pan-fried fish with mushroom cream sauce is something I normally do with trout, but luckily seemed to come out well with inada too!
    Kobujime also works for flounder, whiting, sea bass, hirame, tai, almost all the white fish. Can you obtain dried kobu kelp in your part of the world?

Leave a Reply

