Back from Kyoto

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The traditional metalwork and cutlers Aritsugu in Kyoto.  I own two Kyoto Aritsugu knives and they have served me well for more than ten years.  If you buy one of their knives, a shopman will carve your name into your knife while you wait and then put a finishing edge on the knife – I have never known a blade so sharp as a brand-new Aritsugu knife straight out the box.  Since I already have a pretty much full set of cook’s knives I toyed with the idea instead of buying a traditional knife for my bamboo rod making, but I decided to wait and see; I am not that good a rod maker yet to justify buying an Aritsugu blade.

Leave a Reply

