Tokyo whiting

Many thanks, as always, to Fukagawa Fujimi, sailing from Monzennakacho.

6 responses to “Tokyo whiting

  1. I can almost taste the fry!

  2. Just so! I ate my fill of fish tenpura on board while we were fishing, so these are going into fishcakes!

  3. Hi Adam,
    Have you ever smoked those fillets? A short soak in a brine, a light smoke of sakura, I bet they would be great.

  4. Hi Jim,
    Yes I have smoked them in the past:
    https://nekokichi.wordpress.com/2011/08/27/whiting-fishing/
    They take the smoke admirably well and taste very good.
    This time round I didn’t smoke any fish as I ended up giving most of my catch to a friend in town who wanted them for a meal that weekend – I kept only enough to make a few fishcakes for myself.
    All the best,
    Adam

  5. Hi Adam,
    I checked out the link you posted. Yep, beechwood is what I use for cod, scallops, and other white-fleshed fish. Hard to beat!

  6. Hi Jim,
    They came out well with beech. I think sakura chips would have been to strong for these fish. For oily fish like mackerel though I like sakura.
    All the best,
    Adam

Leave a Reply

