Pork and Leek sausages

This was my most recent batch of English bangers.  I used a ready-made mix from Sausagemaking.org which has the advantage of being a complete mix with rusk (one thing I can’t buy here in Japan, to my knowledge) and a 2kg batch fits just right in one piece of pig casing from my regular supplier at Rakuten.

Among the myriad of things I have learnt so far from the Ruhlman & Polcyn books is that fresh pork sausages need only be cooked to an internal temperature of 65ºC.  I measure this with a Tanita meat thermometer (it can measure up to 280-odd degrees; very useful for cooking tenpura as well as sausages and roasts, and is completely waterproof so can be washed under the tap).  In the past I had most definitely been overcooking my sausages, though this may not be a bad thing with store-bought sausages.  When homemade sausages are cooked “properly” in this fashion almost no liquid oozes out of them, and the meat is cooked in its own juices inside the casing actually very gently.

4 responses to “Pork and Leek sausages

  1. I love it, completely mad! I’ve never come across anyone who made their own sausages before, or measured the temperature they cook at. Good luck… What do they taste like?

  2. The sausages tasted quite good.

  3. Wonderful – they look absolutely delicious.

  4. Thanks! Unfortunately I didn’t have enough presence of mind to photograph them when cooked – too busy eating…

Leave a Reply

