Tokyo Guanciale

The first of three pieces of cured pig jowl in my chamber is ready after 5 weeks of drying.  I look forward to making some spaghetti alla carbonara and perhaps the slightly less unhealthy bucatini all’amatriciana soon.  At this level of drying the guanciale is perfectly safe to eat raw as well.  I also sliced the remaining goose prosciutto on my electric slicer; it is hard to cut the meat at a shallow enough angle to get nice slices like these by hand.  Whilst I would consider cutting up sashimi or other fish on my slicer as gross heresy, I do think some charcuterie comes out much better when cut like this.

Leave a Reply

