Salami Tartuffi

Ready to eat after precisely 30 days drying.

truffle salami

6 responses to “Salami Tartuffi

  1. Just discovered your blog, and your work looks fantastic!

    I was wondering if you have perhaps had any luck getting curing salt anywhere in Japan? The shipping rates from ordering abroad seem a bit outrageous.

    • Hi Ben,
      Thank you for posting and for your kind words.
      I haven’t been able to find either #1 or #2 curing salt on sale here in Japan. I tend to buy in bulk online from the US or the UK – a 1lb bag will last me 2-3 years. Or when someone visits from overseas, get them to bring some over (it is perfectly legal to do so and won’t get you in trouble at Narita).
      All the best,
      Adam

  2. Adam,
    Thank you so much, I was afraid you might say that!
    I have had a general interest in beginning to cure my own meats and may ask my family back in the states to help me with a shipment.
    However what has sparked my interest is that I have been asked to cook at an event at a local cafe and thought I would smoke my own pastrami for the event, so I am in a bit of a rush to obtain some. Hmmm… back to the drawing board!
    Best,
    Ben

  3. Hi Ben,
    I’ve done some reading up on this now. Apparently curing salts are perfectly legal food additives here in Japan, but as-is they are not on sale to the general public (although you can buy them as part of ready-made sausage or ham mixes). You will have to order some from overseas, it appears.
    Good luck with your charcuterie adventures!
    Adam

Leave a Reply

