Random photos

kobujime

The kobujime from my last fishing trip.  It was delicious as always, and never seems to last more than one day once it is ready.

himono

Then two kinds of dried fish: where the whiting fillets are cured and flavoured with either sake rice wine (above) or dusted with ground, dried nori seaweed (below) and set to dry out on my balcony.  In mid-winter these are done in about 12 hours, the air is so dry here.  I took most of these to my local izakaya where the boss grilled them over charcoal, which always seems to make them taste better.

Although I went out fishing in mid-January, on the day the weather was strange: hazy, humid and feeling like Spring. Amid the unholy murk of the early morning I spotted an old friend: the Kaiwomaru II, a four-masted barque that is used as a training vessel for the maritime university in south Tokyo and to my knowledge the only tall ship permanently based in Tokyo Bay.

Mt. Fuji is usually dusted completely white with snow this time of year and looked very odd with so little white and the haze all around it; the deckhand went to great lengths to point this out to me, and other various bad omens, and we shook our heads and pondered on the sad, degenerate times we live in.

2 responses to “Random photos

  1. Looks great. I’m going to have to try preparing some of our local fish in this manner. Adam, just wanted to say how much I’ve enjoyed your blog over the past few years. As a longtime fisherman, charcutier, and traveler I’ve read The Compleat Tsuribito with a great deal of interest. Would love to join you for a beer some day while visiting Japan.
    Cheers,
    Reid

    • Hi Reid,
      Thank you for reading my blog and posting your kind comment.
      If you ever end up in this part of the world please get in touch.
      Adam

Leave a Reply

