New charcuterie

For the grinder…

Pig skin, pig fat and some unfashionable cuts of pig meat (scalp, cheek, heart and belly trimmings) all seasoned overnight and ready to be ground, medium die.  Have you guessed what charcuterie this is?  Cotechino!

cotechino

My cotechino were made according to the Ruhlman & Polcyn recipe, though with about 50% less fat (just because I didn’t have enough fat sitting in the freezer).  Made with odd cuts of pig it is highly economical but very tasty all the same.  The texture is amazing, if you like wibbly skin and strong Italian spices – which I do.  I tried one when it came out of its poaching stock and it was (in all modesty) amazing.  Chilled overnight and lightly grilled or browned I think it will be not bad either.

2 responses to “New charcuterie

  1. Nice photos and I do like cotechino very much. Makes me what to make my own sausage. Time to get a pig head.

Leave a Reply

